Link

1672747-slide-1683133-slide-slide-2-ibms-functional-ads-help-make-cities-smarter

Creative and effective Ad

Rather than creating an advertisement that is like everything else, Ogilvy wanted to create a campaign that shows that IBM wants to help people. In my own design, I always want to break out of normalcy and create something that is helpful and unique. I treat normalcy almost as a disease and I want to stay far away from it. As designers, we should all be creating concepts and ideas that surprise our audience. Give people something to remember. How can I make this interact or strike someone to create a response. We should want people to respond to our work. Break out of the normalcy and stand out.

This is why I love environmental design especially. There’s only so many things you can do with catalogues and brochures. Sure if you have the right budget you can get creative with the paper engineering, but I want to make an impact. It’s like photography. I don’t want to take pictures of everyday life just because a client needs pictures. I don’t want to shove out normal work. I want to show something compelling and unique. Capturing the right photo takes time.

Personally, as a creative designer about to graduate in a couple of weeks, I am figuring out if I should be selective with my first job out of college or just take anything, even if that means I will be working on catalogues and layouts. Coming out of college I have high expectations, but in reality it is vicious out there and maybe I should just take what I can get, and when I am financially stable then move to the big city. Either way I know that I will not get trapped into normalcy and be comfortable with just a job. I challenge people to not be comfortable with the norm, but make everyday unique and strive to make a change. If your life goal is just to have a job and provide for your family, I challenge you to expand from that and desire to change the world.

Leave a Reply

